NERO LARP Live Action Role Play :: Forums :: Main Category :: Rules Discussion
 
<< Previous thread | Next thread >>
Racial Skill: Axe
Moderators: KenGillis, KatieMueller, AdamTaylor, jvalenti, Clint, NickDenny, ShellyHollon, KnightofEvendarr, jasonmote, JSchneider, fdhogan, DDS, jvalentinero, BrianCook, dcashel
Author Post
OwldeDanaan
Thu Mar 05 2015, 09:11PM
Registered Member #50087
Joined: Mon Apr 07 2014, 09:17PM
Posts: 3
I need some clarification on the Racial Skill: Axe Mastery

The skill description states that it allows the use of ALL axes. To me this includes hatchets and two handed axes.

The rule book lists two handed axes under the polearm skill.

Polearm
This skill allows the character to wield any hafted two handed
weapon with a blade on the far end (a meat cleaver on a stick).
This includes any two handed axes, halberds, etc.

Does this mean that a character with the racial skill: Axe mastery can use all polearms, only polearms that look like axes, or no polearms and the skill was only intended for 1 handed weapons.
Back to top
Gabriel
Fri Mar 06 2015, 01:30PM
Registered Member #8078
Joined: Fri Feb 08 2013, 07:47PM
Posts: 14
According to RAW, you would be able to use two-handed axes only and not be gaining the Polearm skill. It's a thematic styling for your racial choice and you don't gain weapon skills per se because they are Racial Trait skill.

I can't say if it was intended to allow the polearm weapon dimensions even if it is appearing as an axe but everything looks like it checks out.

If you want to be able to use all polearms, while it's not as cost effective, you could take polearm skill instead and enjoy the one handed short and long axes as your off weapon. Just a thought.
Back to top
OwldeDanaan
Fri Mar 06 2015, 06:11PM
Registered Member #50087
Joined: Mon Apr 07 2014, 09:17PM
Posts: 3
My main concern is in generating a magic weapon from goblin. I want to use a two handed axe but I'm not sure what weapon type to give it. By the rules it falls under polearm but I don't want to make the tag and then get denied onsite.
Back to top
jasonmote
Tue Mar 10 2015, 05:38AM
Director of Policies, Procedures, & Updates - NERO International
Registered Member #197
Joined: Mon Aug 29 2011, 02:41PM
Posts: 493
A two-Handed Axe would be considered a Polearm. The rules for Polearm specifically include it in the description. Axe Mastery says "all axes" which would also include hatchets and Two-Handed Axe Polearm. Enjoy!
Back to top
OwldeDanaan
Tue Mar 10 2015, 08:32PM
Registered Member #50087
Joined: Mon Apr 07 2014, 09:17PM
Posts: 3
Sweetness. That's what I needed to know.
Back to top
jasonmote
Wed Mar 11 2015, 01:50AM
Director of Policies, Procedures, & Updates - NERO International
Registered Member #197
Joined: Mon Aug 29 2011, 02:41PM
Posts: 493
Posted to International Announcements as well to make it official.
Back to top
Frog
Mon Sep 12 2016, 05:08AM
frog
Registered Member #17
Joined: Mon Aug 08 2011, 09:49AM
Posts: 86
So all 2-handed axes are pole arms.. But not all Pole arms are 2-handed axes.
Back to top
 

Jump:     Back to top

Syndicate this thread: rss 0.92 Syndicate this thread: rss 2.0 Syndicate this thread: RDF
Powered by e107 Forum System