NERO LARP :: Forums :: Main Category :: Rules Discussion
 
<< Previous thread | Next thread >>
Vengeance vs. Displacement?
Go to page       >>  
Moderators: Administrator, KatieMueller, AdamTaylor, jvalenti, Clint, NickDenny, ShellyHollon, KnightofEvendarr, jasonmote, JSchneider, fdhogan, DDS, jvalentinero, BrianCook, dcashel
Author Post
Martin
Thu Mar 28 2013, 03:10PM
Lord Martin William Redawn
Registered Member #1259
Joined: Fri Apr 13 2012, 11:45PM
Posts: 79
I saw a previous thread on this, but could not find a definitive answer there.

Can a Displacement be used to avoid the effects of an Vengeance ritual?

And please...this is a question for the National Rules Committee. We just need a clarification, not a debate.
Back to top
EziekalGrymm
Thu Mar 28 2013, 03:25PM
Registered Member #2746
Joined: Thu Jul 12 2012, 12:12PM
Posts: 81
I am going to go with no
Vengeance definition in formal rule book:
This formal magic causes a retributive strike of pure magical damage to any being inflicting a killing
blow upon the bearer of this formal magic.This damage occurs after the killing blow and is not
avoidable in any manner.
The amount of damage inflicted is equal to ten points per level of formal
magic ability possessed by the caster in the appropriate school. This formal magic has a number of
charges equal to one third the number of levels of formal magic ability possessed by the caster in
the appropriate school, rounded down. vengeance is only activated by an actual killing blow, not by
anything like or similar to a killing blow. This formal magic does not benefit from having secondary
casters. When a Vengeance is triggered, the player calls out “<number> Arcane Vengeance


Displacement definition.
This spell grants the caster, and only the
caster, a shield against the first effect that
hits them. It may not be cast upon another
target. This will always be the first
protective spell lost if it is appropriate to
defend against an attack and will be used
before a shielD maGic, elemental shielD,
maGic armor or any other automatic
protective effect, though a Formal Magic
Cloak or Bane can be used before a
Displacement. The caster may choose
to accept a touch cast effect under the
protection of this spell. When struck by an
appropriate attack the defense is automatically triggered. Displacement cannot be
Imbued via Formal Magic Cantrip, placed
into a Magic Item of any kind (including
a Spell Store item), or by any other means
transferred to someone else to cast.

Hope this helps
Back to top
Martin
Thu Mar 28 2013, 03:44PM
Lord Martin William Redawn
Registered Member #1259
Joined: Fri Apr 13 2012, 11:45PM
Posts: 79
EziekalGrymm wrote ...

I am going to go with no
Vengeance definition in formal rule book:
This formal magic causes a retributive strike of pure magical damage to any being inflicting a killing
blow upon the bearer of this formal magic.This damage occurs after the killing blow and is not
avoidable in any manner.
The amount of damage inflicted is equal to ten points per level of formal
magic ability possessed by the caster in the appropriate school. This formal magic has a number of
charges equal to one third the number of levels of formal magic ability possessed by the caster in
the appropriate school, rounded down. vengeance is only activated by an actual killing blow, not by
anything like or similar to a killing blow. This formal magic does not benefit from having secondary
casters. When a Vengeance is triggered, the player calls out “<number> Arcane Vengeance


Displacement definition.
This spell grants the caster, and only the
caster, a shield against the first effect that
hits them. It may not be cast upon another
target. This will always be the first
protective spell lost if it is appropriate to
defend against an attack and will be used
before a shielD maGic, elemental shielD,
maGic armor or any other automatic
protective effect, though a Formal Magic
Cloak or Bane can be used before a
Displacement. The caster may choose
to accept a touch cast effect under the
protection of this spell. When struck by an
appropriate attack the defense is automatically triggered. Displacement cannot be
Imbued via Formal Magic Cantrip, placed
into a Magic Item of any kind (including
a Spell Store item), or by any other means
transferred to someone else to cast.

Hope this helps



I mean no offense, but I'm not sure who is or is not a member of the National Rules committee. Is this an OFFICIAL ruling, or just an opinion?

(I agree with you completely, BTW, but this is being debated in our chapter and we need an OFFICIAL call.)
Back to top
EziekalGrymm
Thu Mar 28 2013, 04:01PM
Registered Member #2746
Joined: Thu Jul 12 2012, 12:12PM
Posts: 81
Not National, but what is the argument that it does work? I mean it seems fairly obvious that it does not work per the wording in the two definitions.
Back to top
JSchneider
Thu Mar 28 2013, 04:04PM
Jonathan Schneider

Registered Member #8146
Joined: Mon Feb 18 2013, 03:39AM
Posts: 120
It can not be avoided in any way.
Back to top
Martin
Thu Mar 28 2013, 04:13PM
Lord Martin William Redawn
Registered Member #1259
Joined: Fri Apr 13 2012, 11:45PM
Posts: 79
I don't really understand the argument that Displacement "should" work against Vengeance, but the person making that argument basically said that they would keep making the call that it does until National issues an official clarification. So, that's why I came here to ask.
Back to top
EziekalGrymm
Thu Mar 28 2013, 05:35PM
Registered Member #2746
Joined: Thu Jul 12 2012, 12:12PM
Posts: 81
Nero National Customer Service Director
Should count as a clarification
Back to top
Martin
Thu Mar 28 2013, 06:14PM
Lord Martin William Redawn
Registered Member #1259
Joined: Fri Apr 13 2012, 11:45PM
Posts: 79
That works for me. Thanks, everyone!
Back to top
Administrator
Thu Mar 28 2013, 10:29PM
Dark Lord of NERO

Registered Member #1
Joined: Mon May 30 2011, 02:21AM
Posts: 170
Not to contradict you, but all official rules clarifications are posted on the announcements board. The reason for this policy is so that we can consolidate the official clarifications away from the opinions of the masses ( makes them easier to find, instead of having to dig through pages to find a post within a giant thread posted years ago).

Also, not sure if national customer service gives you the ability to make official rules calls. I mean, my position as national web admin doesn't.
Back to top
JSchneider
Thu Mar 28 2013, 10:47PM
Jonathan Schneider

Registered Member #8146
Joined: Mon Feb 18 2013, 03:39AM
Posts: 120
Sorry I didnt mean for that to be an official clarification all i said is It can not be avoided in any way. Ken is correct in the fact that no official clarification can be posted here. I will be more careful of my wording in the future.
Back to top
Go to page       >>   

Jump:     Back to top

Syndicate this thread: rss 0.92 Syndicate this thread: rss 2.0 Syndicate this thread: RDF
Powered by e107 Forum System