NERO LARP :: Forums :: Main Category :: Rules Discussion
 
<< Previous thread | Next thread >>
Displacement question
Go to page       >>  
Moderators: Administrator, KatieMueller, AdamTaylor, jvalenti, Clint, NickDenny, ShellyHollon, KnightofEvendarr, jasonmote, JSchneider, fdhogan, DDS, jvalentinero, BrianCook, dcashel
Author Post
Frog
Thu Mar 01 2012, 06:24AM
frog
Registered Member #17
Joined: Mon Aug 08 2011, 09:49AM
Posts: 86
So below is a direct cut and paste from the new rulebook. Now with this I would have to assume that a Displacement will stop ANY effect, not just those delivered by weapon or packet. Am I correct, I hope that I am?

This spell grants the caster, and only the
caster, a shield against the first effect that
hits them. It may not be cast upon another
target. This will always be the first
protective spell lost if it is appropriate to
defend against an attack and will be used
before a Shield Magic, Elemental Shield,
Magic Armor or any other automatic
protective effect, though a Formal Magic
Cloak or Bane can be used before a
Displacement. The caster may choose
to accept a touch cast effect under the
protection of this spell. When struck by an
appropriate attack the defense is automatically
triggered. Displacement cannot be
Imbued via Formal Magic Cantrip, placed
into a Magic Item of any kind (including
a Spell Store item), or by any other means
transferred to someone else to cast. The
proper call for this defense is “Phase.”
Back to top
spicemwe
Thu Mar 01 2012, 02:36PM
Registered Member #177
Joined: Fri Aug 19 2011, 07:04PM
Posts: 59
Go go phase traps?
Back to top
-CRIMSON
Thu Mar 01 2012, 04:58PM
-CRIMSON
Registered Member #18
Joined: Mon Aug 08 2011, 09:49AM
Posts: 207
yeah. displacement is pretty boss. used to be you could double waylay anyone and take all their sweet sweet olives from within.


then displacement made that harder.


then 9th edition sprinkled some no no dust into the mix.

[ Edited Thu Mar 01 2012, 04:58PM ]
Back to top
Abercrombie
Thu Mar 01 2012, 05:00PM
Registered Member #23
Joined: Mon Aug 08 2011, 09:52AM
Posts: 9
A strict reading of the spell description would seem to indicate that a Displacement would defend against pretty much any attack. There are other places in the rulebook which suggest otherwise. In particular if you look at table 6.1 it shows what all the various spell defense work against, and it lists several delivery types where a Displacement will not work to defend against the effect. It shows that it will not defend against Area of Effect delivery types, ingested or contact poisons, or Vengeances.
Back to top
-CRIMSON
Thu Mar 01 2012, 05:05PM
-CRIMSON
Registered Member #18
Joined: Mon Aug 08 2011, 09:49AM
Posts: 207
theres always contradictions in the rulebook.


but common sense usually says nothing ever protects against things like vengeances and such.


Back to top
spicemwe
Thu Mar 01 2012, 05:42PM
Registered Member #177
Joined: Fri Aug 19 2011, 07:04PM
Posts: 59
D'aww. Maybe a clarification in the actual spell description would be helpful.
Back to top
-CRIMSON
Thu Mar 01 2012, 06:05PM
-CRIMSON
Registered Member #18
Joined: Mon Aug 08 2011, 09:49AM
Posts: 207
the eratta fairies are totally asleep.

Back to top
jasonmote
Thu Mar 01 2012, 06:14PM
NERO International Staff
Registered Member #197
Joined: Mon Aug 29 2011, 02:41PM
Posts: 494
My question is this:
If Displacement is essentially the same as the monster ability Phase (except that it is automatic vs choice), can Displacement be used on a Killing Blow the way a Phase can be? It stands to reason that the answer is yes.

I would really appreciate an Official Ruling be posted.
Back to top
Tobin
Thu Mar 01 2012, 08:24PM
Registered Member #12
Joined: Mon Aug 08 2011, 09:46AM
Posts: 43
Can Displacement be used on a Killing Blow the way a Phase can be? It stands to reason that the answer is yes.

Say what now? I hope you didn't buy land in Montana from whoever told you that you can phase a killing blow. Cause you can't.
Back to top
-CRIMSON
Thu Mar 01 2012, 08:42PM
-CRIMSON
Registered Member #18
Joined: Mon Aug 08 2011, 09:49AM
Posts: 207
not as funny as when someone told me that if two people waylay you at the same time. 1 magic armor will stop it.


i laughed harder than santa clause after i asked him for real life morphing powers.
Back to top
Go to page       >>   

Jump:     Back to top

Syndicate this thread: rss 0.92 Syndicate this thread: rss 2.0 Syndicate this thread: RDF
Powered by e107 Forum System