NERO LARP :: Forums :: Main Category :: Rules Discussion
 
<< Previous thread | Next thread >>
Will to Live
Go to page   <<        >>  
Moderators: Administrator, KatieMueller, AdamTaylor, jvalenti, Clint, NickDenny, ShellyHollon, KnightofEvendarr, jasonmote, JSchneider, fdhogan, DDS, jvalentinero, BrianCook, dcashel
Author Post
silway
Thu Aug 15 2013, 08:33PM
silway
Registered Member #55
Joined: Mon Aug 08 2011, 10:07AM
Posts: 106
Heh, as the purveyor of that bit of writing I have a slightly different view of what common sense is here. ;)

Mickey
Back to top
Traceroo
Thu Aug 15 2013, 09:22PM
Director, Evendarr Royal Court Story, NERO National Plot
Registered Member #3667
Joined: Tue Sep 04 2012, 07:33PM
Posts: 99
No personal offense intended, Mickey -- The only true commonality among LARPers is that opinions on rules changes are as individual and diverse as snowflakes. I certainly appreciate the clear intention to cut down on Holds, reduce irritating questions for Marshals, and discourage player attempts to use forensic science gimmicks seen on "CSI" inside NERO events. I appreciate those efforts. At the same time, I am also part of the camp that believes that over regulation of the game world to such a point as this particular rule is greater overkill than the Black Dahlia of Tyrra was in the first place. Nevertheless, I appreciate the correction on the current rule.

Thanks again,
Trace
Back to top
silway
Thu Aug 15 2013, 09:27PM
silway
Registered Member #55
Joined: Mon Aug 08 2011, 10:07AM
Posts: 106
None taken, I was keeping it lighthearted.
Back to top
dalewyn
Sat Aug 17 2013, 12:29AM
Registered Member #29596
Joined: Sat Aug 03 2013, 11:30PM
Posts: 17
Interesting discussion. Still, the original question has not been answered. Does "Will to Live" kick in at the end of the 1 minute bleed out countdown, making it similar to a "Stabalize" spell, or does it come into effect at the end of the 5 minute go and rez countdown, making it closer to a "Life" spell?

Grumbli / Dale
Back to top
JamesHallas
Sat Aug 17 2013, 10:41PM
Registered Member #15346
Joined: Sun May 05 2013, 03:05AM
Posts: 46
Darn you, 9th edition! My hard copy is 8th, and I forgot to check the PDF thoroughly before posting. Doh! Also: Someone who knows the answer please help Dalewyn answer their question, I've run out of ideas.

James Hallas.
Back to top
-CRIMSON
Sun Aug 18 2013, 01:32AM
-CRIMSON
Registered Member #18
Joined: Mon Aug 08 2011, 09:49AM
Posts: 207
contingency life = end of minute bleed out count (brings you to 1 body and alive)

will to live = end of minute bleed out count (brings you to 0 and stable)






here is the excerpt that defines "death countdown"



You will die unless given First Aid
or curing within one minute. This
one minute is referred to as your
“death countdown.”

in the matters of life and death section
Back to top
-CRIMSON
Sun Aug 18 2013, 01:34AM
-CRIMSON
Registered Member #18
Joined: Mon Aug 08 2011, 09:49AM
Posts: 207
i would argue that the phrase "bleeding out" is more of what we are used to.
Back to top
-CRIMSON
Sun Aug 18 2013, 01:38AM
-CRIMSON
Registered Member #18
Joined: Mon Aug 08 2011, 09:49AM
Posts: 207
Will to Live
This skill allows the character who has reached the end of their “death countdown” to

become “unconscious” instead of becoming “dead”

one minute later awaking at 1 body. This is called “Will to Live”. This is an out of
game call and can be made regardless of effects on the character. This skill can only be used once per day.

[ Edited Sun Aug 18 2013, 01:39AM ]
Back to top
jvalenti
Sun Aug 18 2013, 11:30PM
Joseph Valenti

Registered Member #68
Joined: Mon Aug 08 2011, 10:35AM
Posts: 600
Will To Live takes you from -1 to 0 body points, instead of to the dead state, after your 60 second count down to dead completes.
You can not use Will To Live if you have been given a Killing Blow or if you are Dead from being hit by a Death Spell.
Back to top
JackStarfire
Mon Aug 19 2013, 01:25PM
Registered Member #126
Joined: Mon Aug 08 2011, 10:57AM
Posts: 5
Does "This is an out of game call and can be made regardless of effects on the character." mean you can use Will to Live when under the affects of a taint blood (or other affect that removes the ability to use IG skills)?

I can read it two ways, either a) It is clarifying the same way calling weapon damage does. (ie; you can call weapon damage even while silenced, etc) b) anything that removes your ability to use IG skills (taint blood, feeblemind, nausea, vertigo, etc) does not remove the ability to use will to live.

-Phillip Veysey

[ Edited Mon Aug 19 2013, 01:25PM ]
Back to top
Go to page   <<        >>   

Jump:     Back to top

Syndicate this thread: rss 0.92 Syndicate this thread: rss 2.0 Syndicate this thread: RDF
Powered by e107 Forum System